In 1972 the greek band Aphrodite's Child released their third and last album. The band already build up a reputation in the late 60's. The band includes Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou (better known as Vangelis), Demis Roussos (bass and vocals), Loukas Sideras (drums and vocals) and Anargyros "Silver" Koulouris. The first two members became even more succesful after the band split up with solo careers. They joined together in bands like Formynx and Idols before joining Aphrodite's Child. The name of the band was taken from a track on Dick Campbell's "Sings Where It's At" album and they formed in 1967. Then went to Paris to record their first album "End Of The World" including their biggest hit "Rain And Tears" that was released in 1968. After the second album "It's Five O'Clock" released in 1969 they did another tour but without Vangelis who already worked on his solo project for a movie soundtrack.

Then in 1970 the recording of a double album started. A project by Vangelis and Costas Ferris that was very experimental but still psychedelic and progressive in sound. Finally it was released in 1972 while Demis Roussos already started his solo career. Another hit was released from this album titled "The Four Horsemen". In Brasil the album was shortened to a single album titled "Break".
Brasilian album cover
The album was a concept album around Biblical passages from the Book of Revelation. After completion their record company Mercery refused to release the album. In response the band organised a "one-year anniversary party" at Europa Sonor to protest the album not being released. The party was visited by Salvador Dali who loved the album. Finally Mercury agreed to release the album. It became one of the most influential albums of the progressive rock scene. The album includes many musical styles including jazz and traditional Greek folk and also inspired by "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" by the beatles. The title refers to the number of the beast 666. Which is of course the devil.

Vangelis continued this style on his first non soundtrack solo album titled "Earth" in 1973.
album cover
The System / Babylon / Loud, Loud, Loud / The Four Horsemen / The Lamb / The Seventh Seal / Aegian Sea / Seven Bowls / The Wakening Beast / Lament / The Marching Beast / The Battle of the Locusts / Do It / Tribulation / The Beast / Ofis / Seven Trumpets / Altamont / The Wedding of the Lamb / The Capture of the Beast / Infinity / Hic and Nunc / All the Seats Were Occupied / Break